On the Road Again

You might be wondering why Bloody Show has been so completely quiet recently? Partly, this is due to being a busy precepting student midwife who spends most of her waking hours attending appointments and births. Partly, it’s because the puppy is so darn cute (or because chasing him down to get him to stop chewing on things isn’t exactly conducive to writing blog posts). Partly, it’s because my current preceptorship isn’t working out the way I hoped and dreamed it would. After much soul searching, I’ve decided to move on to another one. In 2 weeks, we’re packing up and moving (again) to the greater Phoenix, AZ metro area, this time with a puppy in tow. Not sure exactly where we’re settling down, but I’m excited to be joining a hopping homebirth practice that I think is going to be a great fit for both me and A. Chances are, however, that I won’t be posting much more in the next few weeks as we start out on this next big journey.

In the meantime, here’s a taste of what I’ve been up to besides precepting:

  • Kristin Kali of Maia Midwifery started a discussion group about Gender and the Childbirth Professional (see her invitation in the comments of this post). I missed the first call because I was at a birth, but I made it to the second one last week. I felt like I was falling in love for the first time, looking at the beautiful faces of my fellow discussion groupers. Staring at my computer screen and seeing queers of all stripes discussing birthwork and gender? Amazing! It’s already been a really healing experience.
  • I’ve been loving Autostraddle’s new series, the Ani DiFranco Appreciation Club. By my standards, she’s one pretty kick-ass woman. Plus, as y’all already know, she had a homebirth and has been using her experiences to promote homebirth in Ina May Gaskin’s new book Birth Matters and elsewhere.
  • After reading said book by Ina May Gaskin and experiencing a few complicated postpartum courses of care for some of our clients, I’ve begun doing a lot of thinking about how the dominant birth paradigm in the US fails women in the postpartum period in a myriad of ways. More to come on that later, likely.
  • Finally, I read Cara Muhlhahn‘s (you remember the midwife from the Business of Being Born, right?) book Labor of Love on a lark. Then Basil chewed up one of the corners and I had to pay the library a lot of money. Regardless, that book got me thinking a lot about midwives and ego, safety, the role it plays in births, and how it changes the experience of everyone involved.  Again, I’ll have more to say about this later, too.
3 responses to “On the Road Again

  1. Well my very good friend has a small house for rent right now. You can email me if you’d like her information and details on the house.

  2. I wish you the best with your move and new position – hope it’s what you’re looking for this time. Looking forward to when you do have the time to write more – always a highlight when you show up in my reader. :) Take care!

  3. I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts on Muhlhahn’s book. I just happened to pick it up from the library the other day…and, well, so far I’m not super impressed. It’s been a while since I’ve seen ‘The Business of Being Born’…but I’m just not feeling any connection with the way she writes about her work.

Leave a Reply

