Butchwear!

I just need to share some good and happy news with y’all.

My sweetie just bought me these Thai fisherman pants! I am so excited and I can’t wait for them to arrive. I found them by following a series of links left in replies to my original posts about what to wear as a butch midwife. Honestly, I can’t imagine a lightweight pair of pants more suited to midwifery work in Austin in the summer, let alone their appeal to my soft-butch heart. Classy and professional while not being girly at all. Found ’em over at this lovely shop on Etsy.

Of course, it would never do to wear these pants with that beautiful vest I still need to make for myself. The thought alone makes me giggle at the ridiculousness. But I’m thrilled and so pleased to be continuing to add items of clothing to my collection that I feel comfortable and at home in within a professional environment. Items that let me be visible as my butch self as well as the type of midwifery student I want to portray to clients and colleagues.

P.S. I’m finally getting around to reading Butch is a Noun by S. Bear Bergman and it is changing my life. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to pick up a copy of this incredible and very important book.

Leave a Reply

