Homebirth Playlist

Well, I was born a coal miner’s daughter,
In a cabin, on a hill in Butcher Holler,
We were poor, but we had love,
That’s the one thing my daddy made sure of,
He shoveled coal to make a poor man’s dollar.

Driving to school today, I heard Loretta Lynn’s song “Coal Miner’s Daughter” on the radio and realized suddenly that this song featured a homebirth! She was born in a cabin on a hill. Then I started wondering whether there were other songs out there that featured or talked about homebirth in some way.

Maybe we could get a whole playlist started just for fun. Anyone else out there know of any songs mentioning homebirth?

3 responses to “Homebirth Playlist

  1. Not any specifically mentioning homebirth, but one of my favorite songs is Sinai by a band called Tasseomancy (from my hometown in Nova Scotia). The band is made up of twin sisters and the song is all about their birth. I can e-mail it to you if you want!

Leave a Reply

