Creating Collective Community

Not only am I in love with both Mia Mingus and Stacey Milbern, but I am in love with this way of thinking about and creating community through social justice work.

I knew doing collective access work would be the most strategic way for us to navigate these conference spaces together, but I did not realize how much doing this work would cultivate community. It feels like I stumbled my way into beloved community, into this space where I can dance and sing off key. Collective access work translated into creating a space where no one got left behind, a space where if a person – including the group as a whole — did do wrong by someone, we’d be committed to addressing it and learning from it, instead of shrinking away.

I don’t know that I have a lot of my own thoughts to share these days (or maybe I just have too many to distill down into a blog post), but I in deep gratitude to amazing and inspiring activists like Mingus and Milbern and the love they bring to the work they do.

Leave a Reply

