Skills

I just can’t believe how much I’ve learned so far in school! We learned pelvimetry yesterday (which was pretty incredible by the way, just to be feeling someone’s pelvis from the inside!) and I walked away realizing how much I have learned and grown in this very short time. More specifically, I have learned skills like taking someone’s blood pressure, drawing blood, auscultating (aka listening) to her heart, palpating her belly, counting fetal heart tones, doing breast exams, and doing pelvic exams. I keep learning more and more and it keeps getting more exciting.

Not to mention all of the classes! History of Midwifery, Anatomy and Physiology, Normal Prenatal, Normal Labor and Birth, Placenta Medicine, Fertility Awareness Method (FAM) Planning, etc. etc. etc. It’s pretty incredible to keep learning all of these things that are so deeply interesting to me and applicable to my future work (as opposed to taking a math requirement just because).

If you couldn’t tell, I’m still a little bit in love with everything.

One response to “Skills

  1. Yay! I can’t believe you’ve learned all of this in the short time you’ve been in school already! How exciting…I love reading your updates, even if I don’t reply all the time. School continues to consume all of my energy, but I’m slowly emerging from the first six weeks–even have started training Poekoelan again.

Leave a comment