Your Best Birth Reviewed at Dooce

If you haven’t read Dooce, you really should. It’s one hell of a funny blog. The author, Heather B. Armstrong, is clever and down to earth and writes in a style that makes you think you’re talking to your best, funniest friend.

Armstrong wrote a brilliant and moving review of Your Best Birth by Ricki Lake and Abby Epstein. I’ve written about Your Best Birth before and I’m so pleased to see someone else (especially such a widely-read someone else) giving it such a good review.

Armstrong says:

And then, oh God, the worst thing happened. And I didn’t even see it coming, but I’m sitting there reading that book, gritting my teeth, shaking my head when all of a sudden it started to make sense. I started to see just how medicalized labor and birth have become in America AND THERE GOES MY WORLD VIEW.

I’m not going to get into the specifics and the really convincing and at times jaw-dropping statistics of it here, there are so many other places and people who can write about it better than I can, but I will say this: if you are pregnant or are planning to become pregnant, GO READ THAT BOOK. From now on when someone asks me what is the one piece of advice I would give to a pregnant woman, it will be: GO BUY A COPY OF THAT BOOK. Listen, I am not affiliated with that book in any way, I do not know Ricki Lake, she and I do not vacation in St. Tropez together (although if she’d like to come ride four-wheelers at my Mom’s cabin in Duchesne, Utah, THE OFFER STANDS), I do not owe that publisher any favors. But IT CHANGED MY LIFE. I’m not even kidding, I’ll say it again: IT CHANGED MY LIFE.

Read the whole blog post here. I can’t wait for her to write the second part of her birth story.

H/T to Unnecesarean.

2 responses to “Your Best Birth Reviewed at Dooce

  1. I haven’t picked that one up yet, but it’s on order at my library. Granted, my view on medicalized birth changed long ago, I can’t seem to get enough :o)

    • There probably won’t be any information in Your Best Birth that you don’t already know, but it’s worth the read. What I love so much about it is that it’s so accessible – you can give it to all of your pregnant friends who never thought they would consider anything but an immediate epidural upon their arrival at the hospital. Just like it did with with Dooce, I hope it changes minds and lives.

Leave a Reply

