Road Trip Music

L. asked me today to start thinking about what music we should listen to on our epic roadtrip from LA to Portland, ME via Seattle.

Which got me thinking that I am truly my father’s daughter having grown up on classic rock. My answer was immediate. Of course the best road trip music is Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young, Steppenwolf, and Jethro Tull, with maybe a bit of Three Dog Night for variety.

Now, if you’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting L., you will realize very soon that classic rock from the 1970s is very far from the type of music she listens to on a regular basis. Fortunately, there is a lot we share regarding music tastes. But my thoughts today have me smiling about trying to sneak Aqualung into our roadtrip rotation.

4 responses to “Road Trip Music

    • I feel I should qualify my above blog post. I don’t listen to classic rock all the time. In fact, I rarely listen to it. But it’s what we listened to in the car on road trips as a child (I picked those tapes specifically) and they strike me as particularly good music to drive to.

      And you should know I’m showing discernment and taste when I chose those artists over the other music we listened to – the Eagles, the Moody Blues, and the Doors. ;-)

  1. I think I may die a little bit if we have to listen to classic rock. But being a Witch, I’ll simply be born round again.

    But – yeah – classic rock… One bridge that seems awfully long (and full of wailing guitars) to cross.

    • But the music I listen isn’t the type that’s full of wailing guitars. I promise. I won’t even pull out the Jimi Hendrix. ;-)

Leave a Reply

