Happy Birthday Pete Seeger!

Pete Seeger, one of my biggest heros and idols, turns 90 years old today. His list of accomplishments is long, including staunch and continued civil rights, anti-war, and environmental activism.

When I was in the 8th grade, I was required to write a letter of praise and a letter of complaint to a famous person or corporation. I sent my letter of praise to Pete Seeger and I sent my letter of complaint to McDonalds. I had just checked out Seeger’s We Shall Overcome cd from my local library. It changed my life. Here was this man singing civil rights songs and getting the entire audience to sing along. It was magical. So I wrote Pete Seeger a letter telling him how impressed I was. He wrote me back a hand-written letter on a torn slip of yellow paper. I was elated to think that someone as incredible as Pete Seeger would take the time to hand-write a note to me, no matter how short. I still have it, tucked safely away.

Happy 90th Birthday, Pete Seeger. May you continue to change lives.

One response to “Happy Birthday Pete Seeger!

Leave a Reply

