Class Shifts

I was  the first person on both sides of my family to attend and graduate form college. Since then, some of my other cousins have been following suite but it’s the exception, not the rule. On my father’s side of the family, his generation was the first to all graduate from high school.

Navigating the world of education and class has been an interesting and tricky one for me and I’m always on the lookout for resources that help me make more sense of my journey so far.

To that end, I came across this recent blog post on Enough about another person struggling with their own very radical recent class shift. I was fascinated by the author’s honesty about the extent of their charitable giving and their worries about giving to known family members and friends versus unknown persons with greater economic need. I share a lot of the same ideals, although I do not implement them so radically into my own life. It was intersting for me to read about the author’s struggles with house ownership because this departs so radically from my own viewpoints. If given the choice to stop paying landlords rent money and actually own my own space, I would have no hesitation or qualms about purchasing a house, especially if I was pulling in that kind of a salary.

More of my own musings on class to come later. In the meantime, check out two fantastic sites about class, classism, and class shifts: Class Action and Class Matters, both based in the Pioneer Valley in Massachusetts.

One response to “Class Shifts

Leave a Reply

